Cave goblin spears #10 – The final gobbos

At last! The final six rank and file cave goblins…

Spears 6

It sure took a long time!

And the extra command group, in case I want to split the horde in two smaller regiments (I would probably need to paint a few more goblins for that or a couple of small unit fillers).

Second command group

It’s not very realistic, but I really like how the moon icon turned out…

This concludes the painting for the first horde and possibly the largest unit in the army (since they capped the ‘eadbasher orc units to 30 models)!

Here’s a WIP groupshot. It will still be some time before I get to basing. Believe it or not, I’m still waiting for those supplies!!

WIP groupshot

Yeeeeeikk!

It’s not really over until I’ve done the bases, but still this is a huge boost to my confidence: it’s the first horde I ever manage to paint, and I managed to keep a good level throughout the ranks without getting bored. Now I know I can tackle the other parts of the army – even though my pace is still quite slow.

Cheers, and next: some crazy shamans!

 

11 thoughts on “Cave goblin spears #10 – The final gobbos

  1. Well done mate, you really can’t beat a good horde! Really like the way the moon icon is looking, how did you do it?

    Also, something I’ve often wondered about, why wait to do the bases after the rest of the model is finished? Is it just because you’re waiting for supplies or is there another benefit? I find that basing as I go makes life far easier (for me) and gives me better results but obviously that doesn’t work for everyone. 🙂

  2. Hi there!
    Thanks. The icon is a blending of several layers of yellow, orange, purple, red and blue, plus ice yellow and white highlights. I went for a rather coarse, thick, covering, but I suppose it would turn out even better if you used some glaze medium.
    Ideally, I would base the models as I go, as you say. The only pros about not doing it I can think of are: 1. no need to keep basing material on the (small) table I use for the hobby and 2. I can seal the whole unit with protective spray in one go before basing, which should help removing any paint that might get on the figure while I’m painting the base.

    • I usually try to do most of the work on them first as well with only a few exceptions. I’m getting better at being careful as I rebase old models, though.

      • You both mean first as in before painting the models? That would make a lot of sense if I could also paint the model separately and then have it fit seamlessly to the base. I avow that I only tend to think seriously about basing when I am dealing with big models. This must change 🙂

  3. That’s an awesome horde of goblins you’ve got there mate. I do urge you to get the bases done ASAP, as despite how tedious they are to do, they’ll bring the finished goblins way up to the next level!

    • Thanks! They do need bases but don’t worry, I’ll take care of them as soon as possible. I don’t feel like it’s going to be tedious either, let’s hope the feeling will not change after the first twenty!

  4. Great looking horde, the netters and clubbers scattered throughout are working well to make them look like a proper rabble. The blue and purple washes are providing an interesting accent, it’s a nice naturalistic look overall.

    • Thank you! It’s very well put – I wanted a naturalistic look with an accent. 🙂 Since I had so many to paint, and I’m entirely new to projects of this scale, I chose not to do anything too subtle. Some of the shading is very crude.

  5. Superb mate, what a fantastic job! Individually they are lovely, but together they look like a proper rabble – in a good way of course 🙂 Can’t wait to see them based mate, that will finish the unit to a tee.

    • Ehm, I’ll have to base them fast, I’m feeling the pressure! 😀 Thanks mate, they are rabble and they should look like rabble. For the next cave goblin horde project (in the distant future, far far away) I’ll try my hand at some unit fillers, for more variation and extra rabbling!

Leave a Reply

