Cave goblin spears #2 – Champion with baby gnasher

Cave goblin champion 1

I have my eye on you…

Done in one quick sitting using, for the first time, a proper wet palette. The next improvement in the hobby arsenal will be a home-made lightbox.

Speaking of photography and its discontents: the goblin’s eyes are yellow, not white, and you were supposed to see its tongue…

I am pleased with this little fool, it gave me the right impulse for the incoming project: the sculpt is crisp and funny and I am enjoying the subtler layering made easier by the wet palette.

I tried this azure fangs effect knowing it could stand out too much when blown-up in a picture like this. You’ll see in group shots that it works out fine in regular framing and adds a needed spot of colour in the sea of black capes. Do you think I can pull it off even on larger gnashers / squigs?

3 thoughts on “Cave goblin spears #2 – Champion with baby gnasher

  1. Nice, the squig is very original. The eyes are perfectly deranged, and I like the colour combination. The blue teeth give the impression that they are crystallised in some way, which makes sense for a cave dwelling organism. I’d like to see them on the larger specimen as well!

    • Thanks. I hadn’t thought of the teeth as a crystal effect (the actual model is so small you can barely notice the blue), but it’s an interesting concept. I’ll try it out on the bigger brothers!
      Btw anyone has any experience trying to post 1:1 pictures on the blog? I find that the software is often messing up with sizes…

  2. Very cool – nice colour graduation with the blending mate! I like the blue teeth & reckon it would work well on a larger model. Give it a whirl!

Leave a Reply

