Cave goblin spears #1 – Out of the caves!

Cave goblin spear unit 1.JPG

It takes a whole lot of painting to get out of the caves…

A group shot of the first cave goblin unit for my 9th age orcs and goblins army.

It’s 45 goblins strong – well, there’s 45 of them – just enough to hide the maximum load of three fanatics. It includes full command, netters and old time clubbers, who are no longer represented in the army list but still like to go clubbing. Game-wise it’s probably not the best option, but at least the nets and clubs help to break up the monotony of the spears. On the left corner, you can glimpse the nape of a goblin king/boss in steam armor.

Models are plastic night goblins from the Battle for Skull Pass box, metal netters and old metal netters and clubbers; the boss is a miniature from the Confrontation range.

The paint scheme will be the one I tried out here.

When I’m done, I’ll also paint an extra command group, which will allow me to field two smaller units instead of the whole horde.

More to come!

6 thoughts on “Cave goblin spears #1 – Out of the caves!

  1. You’ve got my sympathy – that is a LOT of goblins to paint, especially if you’re wanting to do them to a decent standard. Never mind though – think how good that huge mob will look when you’re done 🙂

    • Thanks for the encouragement, I surely need it! 🙂 Things are going well so far (I put myself a bit ahead of the posts): each figure is relatively quick to complete, so I have the constant impression of “getting things done”. And when I’ll finally have the whole mob completed I will definitely get the sense that I can manage anything else in the army. Almost anything: there’s an even bigger unit of orcs lurking in the pile… but I have a plan for that as well.

Leave a Reply

